Yesterday, I realized that I had inadvertently watched two musicals centered around feeding humans to creatures to survive. On social media, I made a joke that, in order to keep the trend going, I would need to watch a musical centered around the Donner Party, a group of pioneers who got lost in the Rocky Mountains and famously had to resort to cannibalism to survive.

Shortly after posting my joke, a friend reminded me about one of Matt Stone and Trey Parker’s early creations, Cannibal! The Musical, based on the true story of a man named Alfred Packer who led an expedition from Utah to Colorado, and ended up getting lost in the Rocky Mountains and resorted to eating the rest of his party to survive the harsh winter.

I remember trying to find it when I first learned about it about eight years ago, but could never find a copy or version anywhere unless I wanted to buy it. Today, on a lark, I searched for Cannibal! on YouTube, and to my surprise, the full musical is online!

I won’t do a full analysis on it, but I’ve embedded the video here for your enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

